The World of Wizardry

Hogwarts Coat of Arms *Wikipedia

I remember as clear as day (if lacking fog, clouds…you get the picture) being 5 years old when I took a trip to the mall with my parents. My mother who read occasionally walked into Borders with me by her side, skimming through the seemingly endless selection of books, comics, and graphic novels. Then something caught my eye; and endcap with the cardboard cutout of a small boy with glasses and a scar on his forehead, pointing a finely crafted stick toward the ceiling. It read Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone above the shelf which held only two copies. I had never heard about it untill then and my intrigue at such a young age persisted my parents to buy the $11 brick of glued-together pieces of paper.

I was never so excited walking out of a mall in my life. I flipped to the first page and read probably the most captivating story of my era. You couldn’t measure how much it sparked the imagination in me, and even to this day I still have the same feeling as I did almost 15 years ago. The Harry Potter series was a special thing, written by someone who was struggling to make it to the next day when the character popped into her head out of nowhere.

It took the world by storm and kids (such as myself) wanted to be the next Harry Potter, dressing up in memorabilia and changing our prescription glasses to a thicker, more round frame.  The magic died unfortunately only to be survived by a number of devoted fans. Now people flock to stores for Twilight, a book about a disco ball falling in love with a melodramatic girl who has the hots for an oversized dog.
(Now don’t take that in the wrong way Stephenie Meyer, I have respect for you in being an author and I enjoyed The Host.)

This is what happens every time someone says that Twilight is better than Harry Potter.

Harry Potter was filled with adventure, mystery, humor, thrills, and sometimes romance. It was a story of a boy coming of age to face a fate that was set for him before he was born. The characters felt real and relatable and if they were killed you felt like you lost a very good friend of yours. The books were nothing less than amazing and the chance that a new series that will captivate the world as much as Harry did, is against the odds.

  1. Harry Potter totally changed my life. It gave me a goal to pursue, a passion for writing. Epic 🙂

    • Charbie
    • August 18th, 2012

    You have no idea how much this surprised me! I know exactly how you felt! I was so enthralled by such a enchanting story I read the first 4 books 24 times a piece. I literally read some every night for about 3 years. I have every book and would slay whoever tries to say they are no good. I find it an obstruction of literary justice that a couple states were actually able to ban these books.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

