Invaluable Wisdom for the Twain in Each of Us

I was skimming through the net one day and found a great blog by the name of PLoS Blogs that revolves around science studies and biological research. With a little bit of digging around I was able to uncover a post by writer Steve Silberman speaking of helpful tips when it comes to writing a book. The tips written come from a number of different writers of different genres and the collaborative work put into it truly gives us a glimpse in the process it takes to create a compelling world for others to read.

*Since my outdated browser at work lacks the ability to share it through WordPress I have provided a link for all to read.

Practical Tips on Writing a Book from 23 Brilliant Authors

One of the most striking tips that I read was from Josh Shenk who said;

  • “Get through a draft as quickly as possible. Hard to know the shape of the thing until you have a draft. Literally, when I wrote the last page of my first draft of Lincoln’s Melancholy I thought, Oh, shit, now I get the shape of this. But I had wasted years, literally years, writing and re-writing the first third to first half. The old writer’s rule applies: Have the courage to write badly.”

We have to write, regardless of how bad we think it is, just write. Before we know it we’ll be done with the first draft and tons of pressure will slide off. Looks like I’ll have to kick my motor into high gear and get to pen-pushing.

Leave a Reply

