The Woes of Moving-Out

I’ll be living on my own.

The very sound of that terrified me. I said it, I wanted it, and now I have it, but what it took was more than having the funds of a young Tony Stark. I had…connections. (*Spoken in italian accent*)

Before then, I was contemplating the possibility of a studio apartment, since my film production company is in it’s infancy I needed all the room I could get, but time was against me. Days passed and I wasn’t sure what I was to do, apartments were denying my application due to the lack of credit history, regardless of my $25,000 a year salary. I was subjected to begin thinking about creating a comfy abode under a bridge, until my friends helped me get on my feet and find a small, two-bedroom residence in the other half of his duplex.

It was excited to say at the least. I wouldn’t have to do chores everyday, I could live like I was my own boss without rules or the prosecution of laziness, I would be able to play Halo in 15 hour stretches and not get my butt lit on fire.

Until I actually got it.

I realized time was getting shorter and less available to fit in recreational  activities. Not only that but the process of getting furniture was the equivalent of catching Legendary Pokemon. I was calling in multiple days at a time to get situated (like I minded), my Evernote account was on grocery-list overdrive, and my mind was overwhelmed on how much it would take to even live comfortably. My days consisted of:

I need soap.
Why did I forget soap?
Dang, towels too.
No toilet paper? Wish I had a towel.
Guess I could use my hand–wait, no soap.
Beans for breakfast…okay.
Beans for lunch…
Beans and veggies for dinner…
No can opener?
Just beans then.
I would get ice-cream, but no ramen.
No microwave, gotta’ put that on the list.
Cleaning utensils! Can’t forget that…
I wish I had a sofa…
I could use my bed…
I FORGOT BEDDING!
Where the heck am I going to put all this trash?
My place smells like old man. Fabreeze would be handy…
I need a bath.
Right…no soap.
At least I have a toothbrush.
…Where’s the toothpaste?

I don’t know what I would’ve done without Evernote and Google Docs. The whole experience taught me a valuable lesson: even though you’re living on your own, doesn’t exactly mean you’ll be living any easier. It takes work and maturity to effectively manage everything from bills to preventing starvation.   And not to forget soap.

  1. Yeah bills and starvation are big factors. Or that fact that I cook so bad, I’d sometimes rather starve.

  2. Hang in there…moving out and living alone gets easier as time goes!

    • Thank you for the inspiring words. I hope it does, luckily I have a few friends by my side that have experienced the same and serve as emotional crutches.

  3. Hopefully those friends will also remind you to get soap!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

