I Watched: The Avengers

Ticket

As good as any golden one.

Holding the ticket to the biggest movie of 2012 quite exhilarating, with all the excitement that brewed in the theater and the long line that threatened the integrity of my dry pants, it was exactly what awaiting for the screening of The Avengers should feel like. While my wait I contemplated the lack of the special edition 3D glasses that Hollywood Theaters had and what it would’ve been like if I had the opportunity to grab a pair of the for the one-in-a-lifetime event, regardless Ebay has a prolific supply of them.

I’d hate to say anything about what I saw on the 4th other than that it was single-handedly the best movie I have seen.

Better than the Dark Knight you say?

The Avengers

Yes.

Hard to say, but the movie debuted in 2008 and there was no warning of The Avengers at that time. I can still say it’s in second place however, but will more than likely move to third once The Dark Knight Rises sails off.
Joss Whedon directs the amazing presentation of what all superhuman or Marvel movies in general should be like. The story follows Loki as he continues his mischief by making a deal with an alien known as the Other to capture the Tesseract (a bluish, magical cube that is recognizable in Captain America: The First Avenger) in exchange to unleash the horde of Chitauri on the earth all in Loki’s control. Nick Fury who then becomes aware of the plan must unite a team to prevent the ultimate destruction of the Earth, contacting Tony Stark, Thor, Steve Rogers, Bruce Banner, Natasha Romanoff (I had the most terrible time trying to remember that), and Clint Barton…well, sort of…

The interaction between them was something that brought something fresh to the genre even though the characters have been in existence for decades; Tom Hiddleston’s representation of Loki gave me Hannibal Lector esque chills, Chris Evans reminded us that Captain America has an internal conflict deeper than Bruce Banner–and speaking of the Hulk–Mark Ruffalo surpassed the expectations of a wannabe Edward Norton and instead created a humble, interesting person who has successfully controlled the monster inside, ready to unleash it when duty calls.

The one thing that kept me planted firmy to the cushion was the barrage of humor and cultural references, something that is rarely seen in such an action-packed and dramatized type of movie, but surprisingly fit in with only a few minor mishaps (such as Loki’s comment at the end which-I-cannot-say-due-to-the-mass-of-people-who-have-not-watched-the-amazing-movie-that-I-cannot-begin-to-proclaim-how-much-they-need-to). Among the action you will begin to see some odd maneuvers and then suddenly realize that they are preforming moves from Ultimate Alliance, which surprized me in more than one way. He’s a gamer and knows exactly what he’s doing.

The Avengers has many jaw-dropping moments throughout the 140 minute motion-picture, but the post-credits scene left me in a paralyzed state of shock. I have read many Marvel comics in my 19 year lifespan and from what was beheld unto me, it left the biggest clue to what the sequel’s plot will revolve around. I would guess that it is in the good hands of Mr. Whedon and perhaps knows how to turn our opinion of sequels in general inside out.

The Avengers

I watched The Avengers. Did you?

    • CaptTechGirl
    • May 9th, 2012

    I saw the Avengers on 28/4, since I’m British. 🙂 I agree with your post about the Avengers. I loved that Joss Whedon directed the film, because he’s a god. Haha. 🙂

    • That’s right, it opened overseas first as some sort of preliminary test…
      We seen to be on the same page when it comes to good directing, but I can’t call him a God.

      Not yet.

  1. Such a good movie. Joss Whedon is amazing and I’m really glad he finally is recognized in something big. Maybe now one of his awesome TV shows will last for more than 2 seasons.

      • CaptTechGirl
      • May 11th, 2012

      I agree, but Angel and Buffy lasted more than two seasons. Though Buffy wasn’t really that good.

      • I never really got into either of those. I saw a few episodes of Angel and it was alright. I wish his other stuff stayed around longer! But I guess we’ll see whats up next for him! I’m excited for Much Ado About Nothing

    • I never heard of Joss untill I heard of his work with comics for Marvel, never for the infamous Buffy tVS (because I never watched it). I hope the same fate for him when it comes to his return to developing a television series that (could potentially) stand the test of time…and reviews.

  1. July 2nd, 2012

Leave a Reply

