Delayed Review: The Dark Knight

How can I resist speaking about the best movie that I have ever seen? the problem lies in that very statement, I can’t. Now for those of you who have seen The Godfather and profess that the movie is the best ever produced for our eyes to feast upon, I can’t say the same. Perhaps because I have never seen any of the Godfathers, regardless The dark Knight is a hardy meal of it’s own that leaves my stuffed (in some theoretical manner that is not meant as a pleasantry).

Since I have never seen Batman Begins (funny story how that happened; I was in a drive-in theater and we were to watch that and Sharkboy and lavagirl as a package deal. I disagreed and pleaded with my parents that perhaps it was the wrong time, but they insisted and we were off. If I have to decree what would be the most ridiculous movie ever it would be Sharkboy and lavagirl. My eyes became heavy with bordom and as soon as the credits rolled I was asleep. Later did I know that I slept through Batman Begins and my hatred for Taylor lautner began years before Twilight…)

Back to my review…

The Batman reboot that Christopher Nolan took under his graceful wing was dark and realistic, something that the past movies failed to achieve, except for the first one directed by Tim Burton. Close, but no cigar.
Not like the previous movies were trying to hit that mark, but nothing can do what Christopher Nolan did. Batman, The Joker, Harvey Dent were all more tangible and believable than any superhero movie made, Gotham City could have been hidden on the U.S. map for all we (don’t) know. The Batmobile also received a make-over, setting the famed vehicle’s Kick-but meter to an impressive all-time high.

Most and foremost the one reason I love The Dark Knight has to be the performance given by Heath Ledger, the take on The Joker at that time convinced me that it had to have been arguably the best acting that has ever beheld before me. He felt real, felt like your average joe who was tormented and abused by his drunk father…or the conflict with his wife…(or some other fabricated lie he must recreate each day to deal with his insanity). While the both may be true in a round-about way, the Joker is multidimensional and his mysterious history is what keeps you watching, hoping that some little string of dialogue could reveal his past. When the movie is over you begin to wonder if it was possible that the Joker himself is unaware of his true origins…

Christopher Nolan noted that the movie was the origin of Two-Face (Harvey Dent) as the story curve revolved around him and the rise of the Joker.

Now what about Batman? I mean the movie is about him correct? Well, sort-of, but he cannot be unspoken. The only thing I have to disagree on Christian Bale’s role as Batman is that voice he disguises his self with, however it works, but most people might have a hard time understanding him. Bruce Wayne is very multidimensional as well, with a sense of criminal justice planted deep into his heart after the death of his parents, but will not kill unless absolutely necessary believing all men deserve a trial and to kill makes him no better than his enemies.
This was reflected greater than I had seen before in The Dark Knight when he was presented with the chance to end the Joker’s reign forever, but saved him, showing his true compassion and moral personality.

The interpersonal relationship between The Joker and Batman is unlike any and Christopher Nolan went above and beyond with his take on the rich mythology of the DC Comics superhero. With The Dark Knight Rises coming to the theaters July 20th of this year I am among those will be sitting in front of that Imax screen with complete faith that Christopher Nolan’s last installment was taken with great care (as he always has) and will most likely enjoy that as much as The Dark Knight…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

