Astrological Pseudoscience

Your ego has now grown by 50%.

Astrology has always captivated my curiosity. I have found myself occasionally reading my daily Horoscope in wonder of it’s truth. There have been multiple times where they have accurately predicted what was to come and other times where I wish it had, however I can’t say that it’s something I truly believe in. The credibility of a simple practice having the ability to predict the future based on when you were born is somewhat incredulous.
When I look at my sign and the traits that are appointed to one born into it, I begin to question my nihilism.

When I think about it I guess I do carry some level of charisma, and I am quite Intuitive and stylish (and they say I’m good lookin’ too. 😉 ). I suppose that this has a certain truth to it which is why I remain so intrigued, everything they say about people born in late September and most of October describes who I am as a person and my personality with almost perfect precision. Lucky number, day, and stone however I notice seems to change with different sites and that seriously reflects some loose ends in it’s credibility.

Tarot.com is the one and only site I rely on for my “Readings”, one day after contemplating a recent choice I visited to find a Yearly Horoscope tailored to my sign. You would imagine how I felt about that, knowing that my chances of anything relevant was slim due to that particular choice I made, but (like my usual discoveries) this time I was wrong.
This is what it read:

Although many have secretly been dreading the arrival of 2012, you’ve personally been looking forward to it. That’s because karmic taskmaster Saturn has been doing a number on your life over the past two-plus years.
Relationship lessons have been relentless throughout this time. (You don’t say.)
If you haven’t made important decisions about where to commit – and where to quit – these are your final months to do so. Don’t wait another 30 years to get clear on what you truly want in your relationships. You’ll be in the throes of Saturn’s testing until October, when it moves into your neighboring sign, Scorpio. Consider this your final exam! (I haven’t even studied!)

Jupiter will be in its fellow Venus-ruled sign of Taurus, making a magical aspect to your stars for a good portion of 2012. Jupiter’s lucky presence in your sector of sexuality (*raising eyebrow*), transformation and other people’s money brings every material and emotional resource you could ever want or need. You’ll have no problem attracting the proper support to fund your current or future projects. This is also the year for coming into your true power by transforming all the dead weight of your past. Change looks good on you, Libra. You’ve been shedding layers of karma, and now you’re about to reap the wonders of renewal. (I hope to the heavens I do!)

World travel beckons in 2012, so pack your bags! The spring-summer eclipse patterns activate your travel sector in May and June, and Venus is in your travel sector between April and August. During the retrograde phase in May and June, you may want to be lay low or avoid more intricate itineraries. Mars will be spending the entire first half of the year in your sector of sleep, unconscious processes and dreams. This could create some inner turbulence (if not all-out insomnia) if you don’t give yourself enough expressive and physical outlets. (*Cough* Halo. *cough*)
As always, it’s about finding balance, Libra.

This was definitely not the first time a Horoscope said something that was to happen and it to be fulfilled later on. It wasn’t my uncanny power of precognition either, it was the “stars and other celestial bodies with their alignments and the energy they radiate” as they say.
If I actually believed that I certainty wouldn’t be who I am today, I treat these “readings” with a grain of salt and usually just for fun to see what the Constellation Wizards have to say for the day.

  1. November 3rd, 2012

Leave a Reply

