Song Analyisis 101

Breaking Benjamin has to be one of my favorite bands of all time; not only do they preform wonderfully, a lot of my inspiration has some direct origin to their songs. They aren’t the only ones who have inspired me with ideas, among those are Fall Out Boy, Hoobastank, Deadmau5, and Shinedown. When I hear them I feel a strong energy and I have found myself drawing that energy to form images that move along with the song, which has helped shape the story as it is now.
When you listen to a song and you get a fuzzy feeling in your head, followed by goosebumps this the discovery of energy. It’s an odd ability and I’m not even sure how many people that exist has had this kind of circumstance come about them.
This particular song however is one of the few that can’t mesh into my main story, nothing I have made is like what I feel from the song. An entirely different story has emerged, a cross into a boundary that usually doesn’t happen naturally.
Here’s the lyrics to “Forget it”.

“It’s a crime you let it happen to me
Never-mind, I’ll let it happen to you
Out of mind, forget it there’s nothing to lose
But my mind and all the things I wanted

Every time I get it I throw it away
It’s a sign, I get it, I wanna stay
By the time I lose it I’m not afraid
I’m alive but I can Surely fake it

How can I believe when this cloud hangs over me
You’re the part of me that I don’t wanna see

Forget it

Just fade away
Please let me stay
Caught in your way

Just fade away
Please let me stay
Caught in your way

There’s a place I see you follow me
Just a taste of all that might come to be
I’m alone but holding breath you can breathe
To question every answer counted

Just fade away
Please let me stay
Caught in your way

Forget it

Just fade away
Please let me stay
Caught in your way

It’s a crime you let it happen to me
Out of mind, I love it, easy to please
Never-mind, forget it, just memories
On a page inside a spiral notebook

Just fade away
Please let me stay
Caught in your way
I can live forever here

Forget it

How can I believe when this cloud hangs over me
You’re a part of me that I don’t wanna see

I can live forever here”

What I saw was a man who had fallen in love with a girl, their bond unbreakable. One day she dies and he’s trying to recover from grief. With “It’s a crime you let it happen to me. Never-mind, I’ll let it happen to you .Out of mind, forget it there’s nothing to lose, But my mind and all the things I wanted” is the memory of how they made a promise not to let each other go, but even though he wanted to be with her forever it’s not possible now. To help with his distress he imagines that she’s still alive; he’s fully aware that she is dead and that he’s living a fantasy, but he likes it and wants it to be that way forever. When his imagination becomes more and more vivid it becomes a constant struggle in wanting to forget her and wanting not to lose her again.

So, what do you think–Crazy, brilliant, or both?

  1. Interesting take on the song. While I enjoy music (like just about everyone else out there) I’ve never really taken the time to analyze the lyrics of most songs I listen to. Having read this, I think I might try it. It seem like it makes for a richer experience.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

